Platte County Landmark  
The Platte County Landmark

Covering Platte County, Missouri Weekly Since 1865

Local News

Between the Lines
by Ivan Foley

Off the Couch
by Greg Hall

Off the Wall
by CK Rairden



Community Calendar



Weekly publication dates are Thursdays

***Sign up for ***
The Landmark's E*Newsletter


Featured Advertisers

Primary race awaits Knight

by Kim Fickett
Landmark reporter

In the closing hours of the filing period for candidates, a primary race developed on the Republican ticket for Platte County Presiding Commissioner.

Incumbent Betty Knight will face a challenge from within her own party in the form of Donn Swaggerty of Camden Point. Swaggerty signed up to run Tuesday on the final day of the month-long filing period. Knight, who will be seeking her third term, will go head-to-head with Swaggerty in an August primary election. It is the only position that needs a primary runoff. The winner will advance to the November general election to face Democrat challenger Curt Cook of Camden Point.

Three other current county officeholders will face challenges in November. Incumbent County Clerk Sandy Krohne (D) will square off against Republican Lee Pedego; incumbent Circuit Court Clerk Sandra Dowd (D) will be challenged by Linda Darby (R); and newly-appointed prosecutor Tammy Glick (D) will face Eric Zahnd (R).

Getting by without opposition this time are incumbent Platte County Recorder of Deeds Ida Cox (D); incumbent Platte County Collector Donna Nash (R); and incumbent Platte County Auditor Sandra Thomas (R).

With the 5 p.m. Tuesday deadline now past, here is the full slate of candidates for county office:


Presiding Commissioner: Curt Cook, Camden Point.
Circuit Court Clerk: Sandra L. Dowd, Weston.
County Clerk: Sandra S. (Sandy) Krohne, Weston.
Prosecuting Attorney: Tammy J. Glick, Platte City.
Recorder of Deeds: Ida Cox, Platte City.


Presiding Commissioner: Betty Knight, Platte City; Donn Swaggerty, Camden Point.
Circuit Court Clerk: Linda S. Darby, Platte City.
County Clerk: C.L. (Lee) Pedego, Parkville.
Collector: Donna C. Nash, Dearborn.
Auditor: Sandra L. Thomas, Kansas City.
Prosecuting Attorney: Eric Zahnd, Platte Woods.